Tomorrow Is Not Promised…

I woke up this morning feeling blessed and happy after a wonderful weekend with my husband. I logged into Facebook and to my dismay read a status that affected the remainder of my day. A friend lost her significant other to a motorcycle accident last night. I paused, in shock, and then scrolled through my contacts to call her and was quickly reminded that I have few numbers as I managed to erase them all last week. A Facebook message felt so impersonal and saying nothing at all felt even worse. I decided to comment on her status to show some immediate support and as I found the words the tears were streaming down my face.

I couldn’t help but think about all the times I let my husband walk out the door without saying two words to him because I was “mad”, or how many times my son got up early to catch the school bus and I missed his departure because I overslept, the times that I’ve been so “busy” and have gone days and weeks without speaking to loved ones. Her status reminded me how precious life is, how time waits for no one and how cherished each moment we share truly is!

I cannot pretend to know my friend’s pain but I can learn from this tragedy and be wiser about the time I have here with the ones I love. We often hear tomorrow is not promised, neither is today. Cherish it all.

Please send prayers her way!

Lynette

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow Is Not Promised…

  1. salaams, Wake up calls are good for us all. Inshallah I hope your friend is well and you also. Send my condolences to your friend. From the Lord we come and to Him is our return.

    Like

  2. Wow. So very true. All of it. Great to have a reminder because it’s those things we take for granted. I’m reminded of the alica keys song (and video) at this very moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

