Twas the Night Before Thanksgiving…

images (2)

And mom busied herself around the house, the aromas were flowing and we knew the Holidays have come to the house…

Well, I get sad about this time every year as the co-parenting thing kicks into full swing during the holidays. I really don’t mind being cooperative with the ex’s but that doesn’t mean I can’t miss my children and have a pity party when they’re gone Thanksgiving Day. For about the last five years, my husband and I have graciously given up Thanksgiving to our ex’s and every year I wake up feeling sad. Admittedly, by the end of the day I’ve tremendously enjoyed the time with my darling husband and do look forward to that.

This year, I decided I would put on the superwoman cape and fly around the first few days of the week to pull of Thanksgiving dinner the last night we’re all together before the holiday! Grocery shopping, done. Cooking bits and pieces here & there, done. Already, my heart is filled with joy as I anticipate an evening of movies and good food with my favorite people! Sure, we get to spend plenty of time together but there’s something about the energy that’s created around the holidays that I’ve desperately missed sharing with them. For years, I was so caught up on THE DAY instead of realizing I can capitalize on the time we have now!

My daughter is patiently awaiting my return home so we can finish cooking the remainder of the meal. She is so excited to be a part of this grand time. It’s THOSE moments that are stolen away but it’s those moments that I am now rebuilding by being a little bit more flexible with our blended family time. I am so thankful for each moment and I KNOW my family appreciates me wearing the cape all week to make this happen!

Dinner is shaping up to be a splendid blended good time, the night before Thanksgiving…

God is good!

Leave a Reply

